What Are Your Legal Rights At a California DMV Administrative Hearing?
If you are arrested for an Orange County DUI, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will seek to suspend your driver’s license. You are entitled to a California DMV hearing after a DUI arrest to challenge whether a driver’s license suspension should be imposed.
You have a 10-day deadline for requesting the hearing
If you have received notification that a proposed action is being taken against your driving privilege, you must request a hearing within 10 days. If you do not make a timely request, your right to a hearing will be lost.
If you hire an Orange County DMV hearing lawyer promptly after your arrest, he or she can request the hearing on your behalf. A skilled DMV lawyer will represent you at the hearing, and possibly save your driving privileges.
At the hearing, you have the right to:
- Be represented by an attorney or other representative, at your own expense.
- Review the evidence and cross examine any witnesses for the DMV.
- Present evidence and witnesses on your own behalf.
- Testify on your own behalf.
Although you can represent yourself at the DMV hearing, proceeding without an attorney is not recommended. The issues at the hearing are quite technical. An Orange County DMV hearing lawyer will be able to expose any errors the police made in arresting and testing you, which could result in saving your driving privileges. Even if the DMV does suspend your license, your attorney will learn important information at the hearing that can help defend you against criminal DUI charges.
If you have been arrested for an Orange County DUI, don’t delay seeking legal help. You do not want to miss the 10 day deadline for requesting a DMV hearing. For a free consultation, please contact the Orange County DMV hearing attorneys at the Law Office of Mike Coffey Attorney at Lawand the Law Office of Mike Coffey Attorney at Lawby phoning (800) 706-7888 today.