What Issues Will The Hearing Officer Consider At My California DMV Administrative Hearing?

What Issues Will The Hearing Officer Consider At My California DMV Administrative Hearing?

If you have been arrested for an Orange County DUI, you need to act quickly to contest the suspension of your driver’s license.  If you have been notified that action is being taken against your driving privileges, you must request a hearing within 10 days. If you do not make a timely request, your right to a hearing will be lost. If you hire an Orange County DMV hearing lawyer promptly after your arrest, he or she can request the hearing for you. A skilled DMV lawyer will represent you at the hearing, and possibly save your driving privileges.

DMV hearing attorneys

 

The DMV hearing is an administrative proceeding regarding the legality of your arrest, not whether you are innocent or guilty of a criminal act. While the scope of a DUI DMV hearing is quite broad, only the following issues will be discussed and considered by the DMV hearing officer:

 

If you took a blood or breath or urine test:

  • Did the peace officer have reasonable cause to believe you were driving a motor vehicle in violation of California DUI laws?
  • Were you placed under lawful arrest?
  • Were you driving a motor vehicle when you had 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in your blood?

 

If you refused or failed to complete a blood, breath, or urine test:

  • Did the peace officer have reasonable cause to believe you were driving a motor vehicle in violation of California DUI laws?
  • Were you placed under lawful arrest?
  • Were you told that if you refused to submit to or failed to complete a test of your blood, breath, or urine, your driving privilege would be suspended for one year or revoked for two or three years?
  • Did you refuse to submit to or fail to complete a blood or breath test, or a urine test after being requested to do so by a peace officer?

 

If you have been arrested for an Orange County DUI, don’t delay seeking legal help.  Remember, you have only 10 days to request a hearing to save your license. For a free consultation, please contact the dedicated Orange County DMV hearing attorneys at the law firm of the Law Office of Mike Coffey Attorney at Lawand the Law Office of Mike Coffey Attorney at Lawby phoning (800) 706-7888 today.